Announcements‎ > ‎

Governance and Structure Committee Completes Report

posted May 12, 2014, 7:30 AM by Lonnie Rowell   [ updated May 12, 2014, 7:31 AM by Margaret Riel ]

 ARNA will hold its first formal election May 13-May 16 based on a report completed by a Structure and Governance Committee. The committee was established by the Transition Coordinating Group in February to address the end of ARNA’s transition period. The transition period (June 2013 through June 2014) followed ARNA’s initial organizing from June 2012 through May 2013. The organizing and transition periods resulted in establishment of a formal membership base for ARNA and the launching of several key initiatives.  

The election addresses an expanded membership for the Coordinating Group and a proposal to create an ARNA Executive Committee. As a part of expanding the Coordinating Group membership, nominees for two new positions are included on the ballot. The candidates are:

     For Coordinating Group Representative from ARNA operational working groups: Rachel Sherman

     For Coordinating Group Representative from ARNA interest area working groups (one): Candace Kaye; Randy Ziegenfuss

Rachel is currently serving on the Planning Committee for ARNA’s upcoming conference at Moravian College. Candace initiated organizing of  ARNA’s Early Childhood Education Working Group, and Randy is a member of the School Leadership Working Group.

The Transition Coordinating Group wishes to thank the members of the Structure and Governance Committee and the Election Committee for their work on these important steps in ARNA’s development. Thank you to: Fabiola Bagula, John Peters, Elena Polush, and Linnea Rademaker.

The Report prepared by the Structure and Governance Committee is attached below.



Margaret Riel,
May 12, 2014, 7:33 AM