About ARNA‎ > ‎ARNA History‎ > ‎

ARNA Year 1: 2012-13

  First Year of ARNA 
July 2012 - July 2013

ARNA was established in 2012 by action researchers and scholar-activists in the Americas. A group of five individuals came together over the summer of 2012, following an initial discussion at an action research conference held at the 
University of San Diego in May 2012, to lay the foundation for the network. Identifying themselves as the “Network Initiators” the group included: Catherine Bruce (Trent University, Canada), Eduardo Flores Kastanis (Universidad Autonoma 
de Chihuahua, Mexico),  Margaret Riel (Pepperdine University, USA), Lonnie Rowell  (University of San Diego, USA), and Joseph Shosh (Moravian College, USA).

ARNA held its inaugural conference in May 2013 at the Fort Mason Center in San Francisco. More than 100 participants gathered from across the Americas and around the world in response to the theme of “The Invention and Reinvention of 
Knowledge: Action Research Across the Americas.” 

Keynote speakers for the first conference included Jean McNiff and Lesley Wood.

The  Network Initiators soon became ARNA's Coordinating Group, and a 21 member team  was collected formed into five Working Groups. The  Organizing Committee and was charged with coordinating the working groups and further development of the network.


ARNA Initiators Role and Contact Information 

Lonnie Rowell

ARNA Chair
University of San Diego
San Diego, California, USA

Joseph Shosh

ARNA Treasurer
Moravian College
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

 Margaret Riel 

ARNA Web Development Coordinator
Pepperdine University
Graduate School of Education & Psychology
Los Angeles, CA

 Cathy Bruce

ARNA Secretary
Trent University
Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

  Eduardo Flores-Kastanis
ARNA Infrastructure Coordinator
Universidad Autónoma de 
Chihuahua   Mexico